August’s Book of the Month

Book of the Month

All The Bright Places

by Jennifer Niven

Young Adult

All-Bright-Places-jennifer-niver-bookcover

I cried my eyes out on an airplane recently when I finished this book on the way home from my holiday. Theodore Finch absolutely broke my heart.

This book is sweet, funny and heartbreaking. It tells the story of an unlikely friendship between Finch and Violet, two teens who have their own baggage to deal with. I like the way they take it in turns to tell the story, dealing with many difficult themes: mental illness, bereavement, loneliness and find ways to support each other.

I’ll be looking out for more of Jennifer Niven’s books. This is an intense read and the author doesn’t shy away from the difficult topics, particularly as it is geared towards a younger audience, although I’m sure adults will love this too.

Recommended by Clancy, Reader Development Officer for Blackpool Libraries

Happy 2014 from Blackpool Library Service

Leave a Reply

